No rockstars here, just hard-working musicians

Ohmygod

In as much as I would like to play it cool and say that our 70’s Bistro gig went well with my signature nonchalance, I couldn’t. I’m still reelin’ and giddy from the whole experience.

First off, I thought there were going to be three bands playing that night; The Outlaws, another band and Tuesday Vargas’ band. When I saw the marquee, I couldn’t help but giggle like a school girl when I saw our bands name on it. With that, I also discovered that the other band’s name was Top Junk. Little did I know that that was the name of Tuesday’s band.

Second, I thought that we were opening for Top Junk. But they opened the show instead, Making us look like we were the main attraction. There’s no question that Top Junk rocked the place, but that little switch in who gets to play first or last will make a false, albeit welcome, impression on whoever was watching. 

And to further kick my guts in, Chikoy Pura of The Jerks went there to watch us play. The fact that the man that K affectionately calls Tatay was coming, completely escaped my mind. I was a wreck. There he was, one of my role-models, one of my heroes, waiting for our turn to play. Man, I was used to watching him perform, on the very same stage, not the other way around. 

My heartbeat gained instantaneous momentum the second we started playing, which eventually resulted in mild chest pains. I thought I was having a heart attack. I told myself, “If I were to die playing music that night, it would have been a good death”.

Check out the photos here or you can just click on the gallery link on your right.